Marcus Fjellström  

Born in Sweden in 1979, Marcus Fjellström is a composer and multimedia artist. His work ranges from the purely orchestral through electronic music and audiovisual work. He has worked with the Swedish Royal Ballet and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra as well as numerous ensembles and soloists, independent record labels, artists and filmmakers including "Salad Fingers" creator David Firth.

In his works, Fjellström often aims to combine opposites so that they don't contradict each other, but rather fuse into a natural, third element. There is often a challenging of the gap between "high" and "low" culture, of the naïve and the sophisticated, of good and bad taste. Musical influences range from electronica such as Aphex Twin and Autechre, to 20th century composers such as György Ligeti and John Cage. Further influences include impressionist composers Maurice Ravel and Claude Debussy, and film music composers Bernard Herrmann, Angelo Badalamenti and Zdeněk Liška.

Miasmah appearances :
MIA 036 - Skelektikon
MIA 013 - Schattenspieler



  © copyright miasmah recordings 2012 - all rights reserved.